Update README
authorSiraaj Khandkar <siraaj@khandkar.net>
Mon, 19 Nov 2018 04:13:29 +0000 (23:13 -0500)
committerSiraaj Khandkar <siraaj@khandkar.net>
Mon, 19 Nov 2018 04:20:57 +0000 (23:20 -0500)
README.md

index f273b75..979eddc 100644 (file)
--- a/README.md
+++ b/README.md
@@ -2,7 +2,7 @@ dups
 ====
 
 Find duplicate files in given directory trees. Where "duplicate" is defined as
-having the same MD5 hash digest.
+having the same (and non-0) file size and MD5 hash digest.
 
 It is roughly equivalent to the following one-liner:
 ```sh
@@ -45,16 +45,38 @@ Finished, 0 targets (0 cached) in 00:00:00.
 Finished, 5 targets (0 cached) in 00:00:00.
 
 $ ./dups .
-df4235f3da793b798095047810153c6b 2
+e40e3c4330857e2762d043427b499301 2
+    "./_build/dups.native"
+    "./dups"
+3d1c679e5621b8150f54d21f3ef6dcad 2
     "./_build/dups.ml"
     "./dups.ml"
-d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998ecf8427e 2
-    "./_build/dups.mli"
-    "./dups.mli"
-087809b180957ce812a39a5163554502 2
+Time                       : 0.031084 seconds
+Considered                 : 121
+Hashed                     : 45
+Skipped due to 0      size : 2
+Skipped due to unique size : 74
+Ignored due to regex match : 0
+
+```
+Note that the report lines are written to `stderr`, so that `stdout` is safely
+processable by other tools:
+
+```
+$ ./dups . 2> /dev/null
+e40e3c4330857e2762d043427b499301 2
     "./_build/dups.native"
     "./dups"
-Processed 102 files in 0.025761 seconds.
+3d1c679e5621b8150f54d21f3ef6dcad 2
+    "./_build/dups.ml"
+    "./dups.ml"
+
+$ ./dups . 1> /dev/null
+Time                       : 0.070765 seconds
+Considered                 : 121
+Hashed                     : 45
+Skipped due to 0      size : 2
+Skipped due to unique size : 74
+Ignored due to regex match : 0
+
 ```
-Note that the report line (`Processed 102 files in 0.025761 seconds.`) is
-written to `stderr`, so that `stdout` is safely processable by other tools.
This page took 0.022968 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.